Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

New member intro

34 posts in this topic

Posted

New member here. Finally a proper Avid/Kitfox forum. Wish I would have found this a while ago. There's lots of great information on the Yahoo groups but I HATE the way it works. Forums are so much better and easier to share information with. I wish we could get all those guys over here.

I'm a C-5 Flight Engineer in the AirForce and I've got a C model Avid with a 582. NSI Subaru used this airplane as a prototype to hang their 108HP engine on it in the 90's. It had that along with a 40lb steel plate under the tailwheel when my Dad and I got ahold of it. It never flew because it weighed about 700lbs empty. We found a guy that upgraded to a Jab so I bought his FWF off him. Dean Wilson himself did my firewall forward. I was fortunate to live 30 minutes from him. The airplane has not flown since 1993 and I'm in the process of recovering the wings right now. The rest is ready to go. It's been a long project but I'm hoping to be in the air by April. Here are a few pics of it before I tore it apart and then of the restoration work.

Avidflyer1-1.jpg

CopyofAvidflyer2.jpg

IMG_3449.jpg

IMG_3455.jpg

IMG_3456.jpg

IMG_3605-1.jpg

This is why you uncover old airplanes. This was what I found when I uncovered the horizontal stab.

IMG_3597-1.jpg

Many hours of prep work and making sure the metal was sound and it looked like this

IMG_3601.jpg

IMG_3629.jpg

Least my A&P has a sense of humor

IMG_3635-1.jpg

Got new bungees straight from Airdale. They are much better than the 15 year old junk that was on there

IMG_3637-1.jpg

And finally a shot of my office and my ride to work

IMG_2782-2.jpg

IMG_3154-1.jpg

Posted

welcome aboard.  :beerchug:  Hope you brought your sense of humor with you.  I think alot of the guys on the other list dont like it here cause it is not just strictly airplane talk.  I put this up as a place to hang out and BS have fun, and talk planes when we need to.