Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Good lord it's no wonder two-strokes get a bad rap

12 posts in this topic

Posted

I just spent a while reading thru the Rotax-Owner forum, specifically the two-stroke area. Reading some of the "issues" people were having were mind blowing. I'm no expert by any means as you guys know by my silly questions sometimes, but common sense goes a long ways. Just about every thread on there concreted my theory that almost all the issues people have with 2-strokes are caused by not having any idea how they work or how to plumb one properly. If they would learn that they can't treat them like a Briggs and Stratton motor they would have a lot better luck with them.

Just a few of many examples

I have a C gearbox on my 582. Whoever put the drain plug on before I bought it really put it on tight. Is there a good way to remove it?

Is it imperial or metric? Looks like 11/16 and 17mm both fit.

If you can't figure out if a bolt is metric or standard you probably outta be paying someone else to work on your crap for you!

I want to buy some gearbox oil for the 582 (mod 99) but I can't find it. The Rotax manual is explicit about the TYPE: API-GL5/GL6, SAE 140 EP, 85W-

140 EP. But I can't find any actual brands to buy.

Did you try a place that actually sells oil? I had no idea that gear oil was hard to find.

My Rotax 582 mod 99 has a fuel "pulse line" running from the fuel pump to the engine block.

Can anyone tell me what the pulse line does?

At least this guy is trying to learn how it works.

Between the Rotax manual and CPS's catalog tech articles you can learn ALOT! I wonder how many of these same people gave up with their 2-stroke and then went and told all their Lycoming operating buddies how terrible of an engine they are because you can't just turn the key and go for 1500 hrs with nothing but oil changes.

1 person likes this

Posted