Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Hi, I'm new to Avid Fox Flyers, looking for info and a plane

11 posts in this topic

Posted

Hi, I hope I am in the right section. I have been flying for 30 years in Cessna and Baby Beech products.  I would like to migrate to an Avid or KitFox that I can fold into a covered trailer and haul around the country to drive-n-fly.  I am curious about engines and airframe models.  It looks like this group knows a lot about both. Mark in Sun City West, AZ

Posted

$.02 worth of advise: Hold out for a 912 powered Kitfox IV or newer.

The design had matured by then to a great little plane and you will not find a better engine for the type than a 912. From there look for the doo-dads you would prefer.

Your budget may dictate other tid bits of advise.

Posted

Welcome to Avid Fox Flyers!

The first question you have to ask yourself is what is your mission? Are you wanting to just unload a plane on the side of the road and go check something out while traveling or will you also be using is as your primary plane at home as well?

A 912 powered Model IV cruises at 115 ish and is a bit bigger and more refined than the earlier models. They also fetch an almost double the price tag to an early, simple, two stroke powered one.

I would say steer clear from a Kitfox I or Avid A model. They were very basic machines. A lightweight 2-stroke powered Kitfox or Avid would be perfect for hauling in a trailer and unloading on the side of the road to go and do some airborne sightseeing. Performance and visibility is amazing. The downside is if you are planning on doing crossing country stuff they have a realistic cruising speed of 80 mph.

Here's some basic info to consider while looking for a bird.

Avid models: B, C, Mark IV

Kitfox models  2, 3, 4 The Kitfox 2 and 3 were similiar to an Avid B and C but the Kitox 4 is a totally different machine than an Avid 4. The major difference is the Kitfox 4 used the Riblett Airfoil and a different control system.