Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

new to forum and computer challenged

18 posts in this topic

Posted

First attempt on this forum, I frequent a skydiving forum but rarely post. I have 2 Avid projects,one is previously flown and has all the paperwork in place, almost ready to fly again. The second is a collection of parts with no paperwork. I have done alot of work to it and plan to build it as a MK4 with extended speed wings, kitfox 4 droop wing tips and a zero time 582,and Cbox. I have a build log and a million pictures of the work I have done so far. I bought alot of parts off Barnstormers and locally. My question is, can I get this thing legal?  I am a private pilot with a couple of thousand hrs, currently own and fly a Kolb (which I didn't build) and a Cessna 206. I have been messing with airplanes my entie life but I am new to the Experimental category. Are there any old threads that might cover my question? Thank you , Cliff

Posted

Yes.  Get the paperwork kit from the EAA.  To register you have the option of "built from parts".

Link

I know of several (including mine) being built by this process.

Posted

If you have pictures and make up a build log of some sort, and it has never been registered or issued an airworthiness before, you can also register as the builder and get a repairmans certificate for it, so you can perform your own yearly "condition" inspections.  Same thing as an annual, but in the experimental world, its called a condition inspection.

Looks like your figuring out the forum as you got your first post in the right place!  Welcome aboard here, I hope you find it useful and easy to navigate.  As always, if your having trouble with something, drop me a line in a private message and myself or c5engineer will try and help you out.

:BC:

Posted

Mine is scratch-built too (not from a purchased Kit)- I have copied the form you fill out from the FAA site. I forget what the number is, but could find it for you.