Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

End of year new guy

6 posts in this topic

Posted

Hello all,

I just joined this site the past week looking for some information about Avid and Kitfox aircraft. I'm a commercial pilot with time in over 50 different makes and model and I'm looking for a step up for STOL performance from my Teenie Two aircraft (don't laugh until you see wht it can do)!

I found an Avid MK IV that's fairly local and it's "not for sale", at least not publically. He's asking $15,900 for it with a low time 582. But that's another post that will get up soon.

I've been interested in the Avid/Kitfox line because I actually do trailer my aircraft around the country from time to time just to fly in different areas and this would be ideal. Having grown up in Idaho and Utah I really want to do more back country flying, even though currently I'm living in the flatland (Illinois).

I have a lot of experience on the maintenance side of aviaiton as well as being a pilot. I'm a welder, fabricator and just like to build things. I've toyed with the idea of buying a partially built kit but haven't seen one for a decent price yet that was close enough to warrant going to buy.

There is a lot more information about me but I'm sure that will come out in time!

Keep up the posts, so far I'm really liking the information here, I just wish the search function would bring up what I need more often.

Kenneth

Posted (edited)

Kenneth,

welcome to the site - seems like you and I have a lot in common - well, maybe except the wild flying of Idaho and Utah - I'm just south of St. Louis, but lived in Alaska for about 10 years - AMT grad - been thru the commercial hours, but now old and retired and flying on drivers license as Private/Sport Pilot.  Got a couple of projects for sale, and building my own design like the Kitfox.

I've been on this site for about a year now and have learned a lot from the flyers / builders on here.