Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Aileron pivot tubes?

9 posts in this topic

Posted (edited)

I bought 3/4 inch .035 wall 4130 tubing for my aileron pivot tubes - Now, I am beginning to question the wisdom of using steel tubing instead of thicker wall aluminum tubing.  More concerned with the flexing than weight -

This is the same tube that spans the full length of your flaperons.

Anyone have some engineering type thoughts on that?

EDMO

Edited by Ed In Missouri

Posted

I am no engineer ED but my  other plane (Q2) uses aluminum for both the elevator and the ailerons.  Have you made provisions for a mid-span support or will they only be supported at the ends only? I wonder what Just does with theirs or Rans on the S6 or S7.  I have to admit aircraft design is over my head.

Posted (edited)

Paul,

It is probably over my head too - just trying to tread water - reading a lot of engineering and design stuff, but it don't cover everything.   These are the pivot tubes - not push/pull - There are 5? support hinges total on flaps and ailerons - just like the flaperon hinges - the aileron tube runs thru bushings inside the flap tube.   Guessing there is a lot of wing deflection in these birds, so aluminum may be more flexible and forgiving?

Thanks,

EDMO

Edited by Ed In Missouri

Posted (edited)

Hi Ed,

Since no engineers have answered, I'll add my 2 cents.

Disclaimer: I'm not an engineer. I did take 2 years of engineering classes when I was younger, so I picked up some basic concepts, but it was almost 20 years ago. I also think engineering is very interesting. Hopefully a qualified engineer will chime in though.

Anyway, I found this link using google:

If you scroll down to "Example - Shear Stress and Angular Deflection in a Hollow Cylinder", you can see how to calculate the maximum stress, and angular deflection for a hollow shaft. There is also a link on that page to shear modulas numbers for various materials. You can use google to find more.