Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Intercom Recoomendations

11 posts in this topic

Posted

Looking for recommendations on an intercom system.  Two people.  Prefer battery powered. 

Inetgrating with GA headsets and an Icom hand held radio.

Posted

I use the high noise version of the sigtronics spo-22 .work great in two of my planes and my buddys challenger even with the doors off.210.00 at spruce

1 person likes this

Posted

I worked for an Avionics shop in the Seattle area for several years performing troubleshooting, repair and installations of all brands of avionics.  We had the most success using PS ENGINEERING equipment for audio panels and simple intercom set ups. 

Many COM radios now come with intercoms built in and they have gotten much better since I was an installer.  I installed a Microair 760 COM radio mated to a PS ENGINEERING PM 1000ii intercom wired for 2-place function in my AVID C.  That was in 1999 and I have had no problems with any function of the installation. 

I recently installed an MGL COM radio with integral intercom in a CH-701 and it seems to work well. (at least I have not had to do any trouble shooting and re-work,  yet)  I have also recently installed a GARMIN panel mount radio with intercom in a RANs S-6 but that is a TSO'd radio and a bit more spendy.  The GARMIN equipment is top drawer stuff if you want to spend for it.

PS ENGINEERING makes a portable 2-place battery powered intercom that may work with a handheld radio.  Prices vary with retailers based upon stock on hand but most retailers are reasonable competitive.