Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

WRONG PATTERN ENTRY AND EXIT

4 posts in this topic

Posted (edited)

Many years ago when I was a fairly new Private Pilot, I was PIC with another PP who had flown with the same instructor who taught me.  We were coming down a valley which led to the North end of the airport to make a turn to the South for our downwind.   We were about 200 feet above pattern altitude and coming into the pattern at the North corner instead of midway of the runway.  I guess our instructor had not demanded that we enter the pattern at midfield enough to make us aware of the dangers of coming into the end of the pattern in an uncontrolled airport.

Suddenly, a plane on takeoff, who must have extended his climb-out, was almost nose-to-nose with us.   Both of our planes executed a hard right bank and right turn, only missing each other by less than 100 feet - it seemed a lot closer than that at the time! 

Be aware, there is a good reason to be AT pattern altitude and enter the pattern ONLY at mid-field.  You may not see what is coming up under the nose.

At another airport, a Cessna 150 was low in the pattern, and an Ercoupe was at pattern altitude or a little higher - They both landed at the same time, with the Ercoupe (not mine) landing right on top of the Cessna.   Fortunately, both pilots were unhurt, but the prop of the Ercoupe shredded the nose of the Cessna.

EDMO

Edited by EDMO
1 person likes this

Posted

Good stuff Ed!  Food for though for a newbie pilot like me.  Thanks for writing this up.

Posted