Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Tail Wheel flying

7 posts in this topic

Posted

Hey guys I took my first two hours of tail wheel lessons today with an instructor, we were in his Kitfox 4, 582 3 blade warp, you guys are right these birds are a bit squirrely at first, but I would say by my 5th landing I was nailing it, pretty happy about that,  did all wheel landings today, got about 20 of them down, next time he said we can do a few 3 point, super impressed at how well these birds climb, easy 1000 fpm with both of us 200 pounders in there,   How many hours do guys normally take to get the endorsement,

Posted

you only have to show proficiency.  That said, get some training in various wind conditions.  if all your TO and LD were with wind right down the runway, your going to have a rude awakening the first good Xwind landing you have.  Better to do it with a good TW instructor first.

:BC:

1 person likes this

Posted (edited)

I was a 300 hour Cherokee pilot when I started tail wheel training.  10 hours dual in a Stinson then 4 more in a J3 cub with the same instructor to get the tail wheel endorsement .  Almost all the dual was takeoffs and landings.  I then got 7 more hours dual in a model 4 Kitfox before I tried to fly my own.

I get my flight reviews from the same instructor in his J3 or a sport cub and it always feels like driving a truck.  Everything happens a lot slower in the Cubs than in my kitfox.

Edited by tcj
2 people like this

Posted

you only have to show proficiency.  That said, get some training in various wind conditions.  if all your TO and LD were with wind right down the runway, your going to have a rude awakening the first good Xwind landing you have.  Better to do it with a good TW instructor first.

:BC: