AVGAS Vs: MOGAS

9 posts in this topic

Posted

I have several flying Avids with 582 grey head engines in them. I have been flying on AVGAS for the last several years with good results, as Ethanol Free gasoline  was not available here.

Recently one of the local stations got ethanol free gas so I switched to try some.

In both planes it raised both the exhaust gas temp and the coolant temp by 20 degrees, enough to cause concern. I could re-jet the carbs to lower the temps, but then if I fly somewhere and have to use AVGAS, I would be in trouble again. Has anyone else had similar experience?

1 person likes this

Posted

Avgas contains more octane with completely changes the way the flame front travels in the cylinder. Completely normal for it run cooler on Avgas than Mogas. As far as the coolant temps go I'm scratching my head on that one. You are too close to the limits if 20 degrees EGT is of great concern to you. Are you running a digital EGT gauge or just guessing from a needle?

Posted

Gages are analog. The temp is not over, just higher than it normally runs. I drained the MOGAS out of the tanks and replaced it with AVGAS. Looks like maybe Tuesday I'll be able to check and see what effect it has.

The monetary savings are about 30%, but not worth wrecking an engine over.

N532SE;N533SE;N5113H Flying. Plus one undergoing rebuild, and another awaiting rebuild.

All three have heavy duty belly radiators.

Bob

Posted (edited)

For what it's worth I've ran 2000 gallons of CA ethanol fuel through my 582 over the course of 6 years. The engine doesn't know the difference of 10% ethanol. It's the rest of the fuel system you have to watch. Are you premixing or injecting? Lockwood and CPS will both tell you that 100LL is bad for two strokes. The key is do what works for you. 

Edited by C5Engineer
2 people like this

Posted

Funny.  LEAF says 100LL is just fine for a two-stroke, when run properly.

Posted