Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

Landing gear stubshaft instalation

15 posts in this topic

Posted

I've been pretty busy at work so no play, sorry for my absence. Playing now though!!!

New bush gear and I have been fitting the axle shafts in the gear. So what do you use for corrosion between the two. I have had some one say to bed it in zinc chromate.... Or epoxy?

shaft_zpszo7xdnjl.jpg

PS still saving up money for a Carbon Cub! :rolleyes:

Posted

I just brushed a little grease on mine and bolted it together, Im sure you could do any type anti-seize 

1 person likes this

Posted

Personally I'd use anti-seize. I use it anywhere I have metal to metal installation that I don't want to freeze up or corrode. Especially where there are dissimilar metals involved like aluminum to steel. I purchased a small pint of it years ago when I was a mechanic for a living. I don't think I've even used up half of it and use it all the time. 

The problem with spraying it with any type of chromate is that you'll build up the diameter some Not to mention you're bound to get a few scratches in that while installing that can still corrode on you eventually. I suppose that if you have the space a couple light coats wouldn't hurt, then use anti-seize as well. 

Just like everything in this experimental world, you are the PIC and mechanic in charge so use your best judgement. 

2 people like this

Posted

I would use anti seize as well.  if they get bound up in there it's a BUGGER to get them out.  I have bent every set of axles I have had on my Avid when I had the 3/4" axles.

:BC:

Posted

Thanks guys!!! I thought about that too, but that is what a buddy of mine said. He worked on aircraft for years and actually found this one for me.

Posted

Anti-Sieze x3.

Posted (edited)

I would use anti seize as well.  if they get bound up in there it's a BUGGER to get them out.  I have bent every set of axles I have had on my Avid when I had the 3/4" axles.