New here

43 posts in this topic

Posted

Hi everyone. My name is Mike and I have been away from aviation for a couple of years due to some health issues, I am just getting older. I miss flying a lot. I am wanting to jump back in by building my own LSA qualified airplane. My last bird was a 39' 8A Luscombe so I have some taildragger experience, all told about 500 hours. I joined EAA again and I think I can do this. I was first drawn to the Avid/Kitfox design somewhere in the 80's when I saw my first one displayed at the Reno air races, even met Dan Denny. So moving up to current I have spotted a Bandit for sale on Barnstormers, its advertised as an unbuilt kit for $11K. If it is complete is this a decent deal? What questions should I ask of the seller? I would like to build the 50HP version with the 503, is that reasonable for a 200 Ib pilot? All comments are welcome and appreciated, thanks. Mike

P.S. I am retired from Skywest airlines as an A&P so I am not intimidated by tools or mechanical things.

Posted (edited)

Hi everyone. My name is Mike and I have been away from aviation for a couple of years due to some health issues, I am just getting older. I miss flying a lot. I am wanting to jump back in by building my own LSA qualified airplane. My last bird was a 39' 8A Luscombe so I have some taildragger experience, all told about 500 hours. I joined EAA again and I think I can do this. I was first drawn to the Avid/Kitfox design somewhere in the 80's when I saw my first one displayed at the Reno air races, even met Dan Denny. So moving up to current I have spotted a Bandit for sale on Barnstormers, its advertised as an unbuilt kit for $11K. If it is complete is this a decent deal? What questions should I ask of the seller? I would like to build the 50HP version with the 503, is that reasonable for a 200 Ib pilot? All comments are welcome and appreciated, thanks. Mike