Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0

My first plane/Avid mk4 pre-buy inspection/ advice

7 posts in this topic

Posted

Good afternoon y'all! Let me start by introducing myself, I am Benjamin! I am a 20 year old pilot with aprox 150 hours , all in tricycle gear aircraft; (C-150, C-172). While I am a full time college student, and am swearing into the army reserve next week, aviation always has and I assume always will be my passion.

I have recently found an absolutely beautiful Avid mk4 that meets 90% of my flight mission profiles, and takes 100% of my budget:).    My main two issues are that I have zero experience with experimental/LSA aircraft/ an inability to do a THOROUGH pre-buy inspection myself, and second while I am based in Southern California, the plane is in Tacoma, Washington. Aprox 1,200 miles away. 

Does anyone have advice as to facilitate an aviation deal over long distance, and recommendations for either a comprehensive pre-buy checklist and or qualified A&P mechanics that neck of the woods? 

Also I want to apologize in advance for any faux pas I may have made with my first post.

Posted

Welcome aboard!  We have several members in that area that might be willing to give advise on local A&P but my finding is that most of them have never dealt with or seen an Avid or kitfox and especially have never dealt with a 2 stroke powered aircraft.  The A&P / IA I use pretty much looks for the obvious and asks me if I feel safe and confident in my flying lawn mower then signs it off.  When was the last condition inspection?  Is it flown regularly or is it a barn find or hangar queen.  I think you will find that the Avid will make you grin ear to ear after flying the spam cans after you get through the initial shock of having to use your feet.

:BC:

Posted