Need help

20 posts in this topic

Posted

I purchased an Avid Flyer Model C - it has one single piece of damage from some sort of landing which caused this damage. Two questions, I've never worked with this fabric before, and I'm looking to minimize the cutting of fabric and damage to repair

- do I cut from the bottom and peel back or cut from the side to uncover the  bent pipe? 

Next question, how do suspect this happened? (Tail wheel must have gone up and struck the rudder? I knew a lot of people that were there that day and the landings were perfect by a longtime pro, so it wasn't the builder that flew the aircraft. It flew on a grass strip - is this tailwheel not up to the task, weak by design? Last thing I want is to have to deal with a tail wheel that impacts the rudder and causes damage every couple of flights.

Pic attached, thanks again for your help and comments.

IMG_5372.JPG

Posted (edited)

You should be able to dissolve the paint and glue on the fabric with MEK and not cut anything.  Peal off the finish tape, peal back the fabric from each side, straighten the rudder and reattach the fabric.  Unless your tailsping is really soft /weak you would really have to bang it down hard to bend the rudder.  More likely to get bent that much if the wings are folded and the tail gets dropped off the trailer or something.  You can change out or double up the spring if it's real weak to prevent this happening again if it did happen from a landing.  JImChuk

PS. Just looked at the picture again, and if the plane was trailered without the tail being supported and you hit some big bumps, you might get. This damage.

Edited by 1avidflyer

Posted

The first thing I would try, is a heat gun, VERRY SLOWly!!!!

Posted