EGT Temps

22 posts in this topic

Posted

Hey Everyone,

I finally got out to do some work on the plane and go flying today. Felt awesome to be in the air with my Avid again. The thing jumped off the ground about 1 second after full throttle and probably set a new stopping record at my airport when I landed a few feet short of the pavement. :blink:

I'm a two stroke noob and have been trying to get my egt's to show the same on both cyclinders. At the lower temps it runs about 75-100 degrees difference and at the high end its maybe 50 or less off. The thing is that when I'm at full throttle or running anywheres above roughly 5500 rpm the one egt creeps to 1200 or slightly higher while the other one is at 1150 ish. Normally its turning 6200 rpm at full throttle on the ground and tied to my truck. I turned both mixture needles (the little ones beside the big idle screws) fully in so it should be running at full rich; right? I'm wondering if one egt probe is off or something. I've ground run it a bunch and can't seem to figure it out. Should i raise the needle clips 1 notch and see if that helps?

Any advice would be super appreciated. I love flying this thing but don't want to cook the engine. :flame:

Thanks,

Darcy

Posted

Hey Everyone,

I finally got out to do some work on the plane and go flying today. Felt awesome to be in the air with my Avid again. The thing jumped off the ground about 1 second after full throttle and probably set a new stopping record at my airport when I landed a few feet short of the pavement. blink.gif